skip navigation

Teams announced for 2019 Herb Brooks Holiday Classic high school hockey tournament

By Barclay Kruse, Herb Brooks Foundation Media Contact, 04/17/19, 4:30PM CDT


Blaine, Minn. (April 17, 2019) – The National Sports Center announced the field of teams that will play in the inaugural Herb Brooks Holiday Classic high school hockey tournament, December 26, 2019-January 1, 2020.

For 18 years this tournament has been the Schwan Cup. The name has been changed to reflect the partnership between the National Sports Center and the Herb Brooks Foundation to honor Minnesota’s hockey icon, Coach Herb Brooks.

The final game schedule will be announced in the fall.

Boys, December 26-28, all games at the Super Rink at the National Sports Center

Gold: Holy Angels, Rogers, Park of Cottage Grove, Minneapolis, Hudson (Wis.), Breck, Sartell, University School of Milwaukee (Wis.)

Silver: Minnehaha Academy, Northfield, Bloomington Kennedy, Gentry Academy, Eau Claire North (Wis.), St. Paul Academy, Marshall, Chisago Lakes.

Bronze: Spring Lake Park, Southwest Christian/Richfield, Princeton, Providence Academy, Henry Sibley, Simley, Brookfield (Wis.), Pine City.

Open: Becker/Big Lake, Luverne, Cambridge-Isanti, Faribault.

Girls, December 30, 2019-January 1, 2020, all games at the Super Rink at the National Sports Center

Gold: St. Paul United, Hill-Murray, Andover, Rogers, Holy Family, Blake, Centennial, Proctor-Hermantown.

Silver: Buffalo, Mahtomedi, Delano, Chisago Lakes, Bloomington Jefferson, Cambridge-Isanti/Mora/Pine City, Minneapolis, Duluth.

Bronze: St. Francis/North Branch, North Shore, Western Wisconsin Stars, Spring Lake Park, River Lakes, Irondale, Marshall, Eveleth-Gilbert.

Open: Luverne, Arrowhead, Detroit Lakes, Northern Lakes, Albert Lea, University School of Milwaukee (Wis.), Moose Lake Area, International Falls.