skip navigation

Herb Brooks Holiday Classic Save the Date

By Isaiah Neal, 12/03/19, 3:45PM CST


Herb Brooks Holiday Classic Save the Date

Minnesota’s Largest High School Hockey Tournament Returns for 18th Year


BLAINE, Minn. (Dec. 3, 2019) – With a red pen, circle the dates Dec. 26 – Jan. 1 on your calendar and prepare for the largest boys and girls high school hockey tournament in the state of Minnesota. The Herb Brooks Holiday Classic, formerly known as Schwan Cup, marks the official kick-off of the 40th anniversary of Miracle on Ice — the greatest sports moment of the 20th century.

More than 175 games will be played by 54 boys teams and 64 girls teams at NSC Super Rink over six days, making it the largest holiday hockey tournament in the North Star State.

The tournament provides players, coaches and fans an early season preview of some of the best high school hockey in Minnesota.

For 18 years, this tournament was called Schwan Cup, but this year, the name has been changed to reflect the partnership between the National Sports Center and the Herb Brooks Foundation. The tournament will honor Minnesota’s hockey icon, Coach Herb Brooks, who was instrumental in building the Super Rink on the National Sports Center campus. The Herb Brooks Holiday Classic continues to offer high school hockey players a unique tournament opportunity.



Tuesday, Dec. 26—Wednesday, Dec. 28 (Boys)

Monday, Dec. 30—Wednesday, Jan. 1 (Girls)


The National Sports Center’s Super Rink in Blaine, MN

1700 105th Ave NE, Blaine, MN 55449

*Varsity championship games will be held at TRIA Rink in St. Paul, MN*

400 Wabasha St N, St Paul, MN 55101


Gold: Holy Angels, Rogers, Park of Cottage Grove, Minneapolis, Hudson (Wis.), Breck, Sartell, University School of Milwaukee (Wis.)

Silver: Minnehaha Academy, Northfield, Bloomington Kennedy, Gentry Academy, Eau Claire North (Wis.), St. Paul Academy, Marshall, Chisago Lakes.

Bronze: Spring Lake Park, Southwest Christian/Richfield, Princeton, Providence Academy, Henry Sibley, Simley, Brookfield (Wis.), Pine City.

Open: Becker/Big Lake, Cambridge-Isanti, Faribault, Luverne.


Gold: St. Paul United, Hill-Murray, Andover, Rogers, Holy Family, Blake, Centennial, Proctor-Hermantown.

Silver: Buffalo, Mahtomedi, Delano, Chisago Lakes, Bloomington Jefferson, Cambridge-Isanti/Mora/Pine City, Minneapolis, Duluth.

Bronze: St. Francis/North Branch, North Shore, Western Wisconsin Stars, Spring Lake Park, River Lakes, Irondale, Marshall, Eveleth-Gilbert.

Open: Luverne, Arrowhead, Detroit Lakes, Northern Lakes, Albert Lea, University School of Milwaukee (Wis.), Moose Lake Area, International Falls.

About the National Sports Center

The National Sports Center is the world's largest amateur sports facility. The NSC operates over 100 unique programs and events in a variety of sports as well as hosting numerous national and international competitions. These events draw over four million visitors each year, making it the most visited sports facility in the state. Components of the facility include a 690-acre campus; eight sheets of ice, a 5,500-seat soccer stadium, a convention building, Victory Links golf course, an indoor Sports Hall with a full turf field, a residence hall, and over 50 soccer fields. The National Sports Center also reigns as the training grounds of Minnesota United. The National Sports Center generates over $83 million in annual economic impact for the state of Minnesota.