skip navigation

Banner Ceremony held at Schmitz-Maki Area for 2019 HB Award Winner Jenna Gerold from Farmington High School

By NSC Staff, 01/09/20, 3:00PM CST


The 2019 Herb Brooks Award winner was Jenna Gerold from Farmington High School. Jenna had her Banner Ceremony at Schmitz-Maki Arena last week.

Herb Brooks Award

The Herb Brooks Award is given to the most qualified hockey player in the state tournament who strongly represents the values, characteristics, and traits that defined Herb Brooks. This prestigious award will commemorate the unending influence Herb Brooks had on the sport of hockey in Minnesota and throughout the world.

Nomination Process

The head coach of each team qualifying for both the State Girls’ Hockey Tournament and State Boys’ Hockey Tournament can nominate a player for the Herb Brooks Award. 

The nominee must, in the opinion of his/her head coach, represent the characteristics, values and traits Herb Brooks defined. This award is not necessarily intended for the best player on the team. Instead, it should honor the player with the most drive and dedication to the team, to the school, and to the community — and, of course, to hockey.

Characteristics and values nominees should feature:

  • True love for hockey — a real passion 
  • Commitment and loyalty to school, team, and community 
  • Willingness to sacrifice for the team 
  • Integrity 
  • Courage of his/her convictions 
  • Goal-oriented approach 
  • Sharp focus and strong competitive drive 
  • Excellent work ethic 
  • Willingness to accept challenges 
  • Mental toughness 
  • Strong hockey skills 
  • Strong leadership qualities

Selection Process

The selection committee comprises current and former high school hockey coaches and other hockey community members with connections to Herb. Herb’s son Dan and his daughter, Kelly Paradise, chair a committee that reviews nominations, observes nominees in state tournament games, and selects the winners. Committee members may interview head coaches to discuss the nominee.

Winners are selected during the third period of the third-place game for each class at each tournament. The winner’s coach will be notified before each championship game, and the award presentation will take place at the conclusion of the championship game, prior to the championship medals and trophies.