skip navigation

Annual Herb Brooks Foundation Golf Classic to be held June 14 at NSC's Victory Links

By Barclay Kruse, Herb Brooks Foundation Media Contact, 06/11/13, 2:45PM CDT


Members of the 1980 Olympic Team and other hockey celebrities will appear

Larry Hendrickson to be inducted into the Herb Brooks Foundation Hall of Fame

Blaine, Minn. (June 11, 2013) – The Herb Brooks Foundation’s annual Golf Classic will be held this Friday, June 14 at Victory Links golf course on the campus of the National Sports Center in Blaine.

A total of 132 golfers will tee off at 1 p.m. The Golf Classic is full so registration is not open for golf. However tickets to the post golf banquet are still available for $40. The banquet is open to the public and will be held in the Grand Hall of the Schwan Center, also on the National Sports Center campus. The banquet will begin immediately after the Golf Classic concludes, at approximately 6 p.m. Contact John McClellan, Herb Brooks Foundation Executive Director at 763.785.5645 or for banquet tickets.

The Herb Brooks Foundation Golf Classic is notable as a gathering place for hockey celebrities, including several members of Herb Brooks’ gold medal winning 1980 Olympic Hockey Team.

Members of the “Miracle on Ice” team who have committed to participate on Friday include Dave Christian, Rob McClanahan, Steve Janicek, and John Harrington.

Some of the other hockey celebrities participating include former NHL players Phil Housley, Eric Rasmussen, Joe Dziedzic, Wyatt Smith, Mark Parrish and Tom Chorske. Chorske will co-MC the banquet program along with Herb Brooks’ son Dan Brooks.

The centerpiece of the banquet is the annual induction of new members of the Herb Brooks Foundation Youth Hockey Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame honors those individuals who have significantly contributed to growing the game of hockey, the mission of the Herb Brooks Foundation.

The 2013 honoree will be Larry Hendrickson, long-time Minnesota hockey coach and hockey booster. Hendrickson’s Foundation grows the game of hockey by providing coaching and other resources to children and adults with cognitive-developmental limitations, physical disabilities, paralysis and amputee limitations, and military veterans with combat and non-combat related injuries.

Past inductees into the Herb Brooks Foundation Youth Hockey Hall of Fame are Janet Marvin, Jim McDonough, Cal, Tut and Jack Marvin, Rudy Krampotich, Stan Hubbard and Wes Barette.