skip navigation

Candidates announced for inaugural Mike Richter Award

By Let's Play Hockey Magazine, 03/03/14, 4:45PM CST


Inaugural award to be presented at the 2014 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four

MINNEAPOLIS ­­— Let’s Play Hockey and the Herb Brooks Foundation announced today the 18 candidates for the inaugural Mike Richter Award, which annually honors the most outstanding goaltender in NCAA men’s hockey. The inaugural award will be presented at the 2014 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four in Philadelphia.

The candidates combine for a 2.19 goals-against average, a .926 save percentage and a grade-point average of 3.12. The nominees for the 2014 Mike Richter Award are:

Candidate, School, Year                           
W-L-T               GAA            SV%             SO              

Sam Brittain, Denver, Senior                       
13-11-6            2.10            .931            4

Aaron Crandall, Minnesota Duluth, Senior                       
11-9-3              2.77            .903            0

Thatcher Demko, Boston College, Freshman                 
13-1-3              1.74            .937            2

Ryan Faragher, St. Cloud State, Junior                        
16-6-4              2.62            .910            1

Jon Gillies, Providence, Sophomore              
14-7-5              2.23            .926            3

Connor Hellebuyck, UMass Lowell, Sophomore              
12-6-2              1.90            .929            3

Jake Hildebrand, Michigan State, Sophomore              
8-13-7              2.22            .931            2

Andy Iles, Cornell, Senior                       
13-7-5              2.26            .920            0

C.J. Motte, Ferris State, Junior                        
22-5-3              2.22            .928            3

Zach Nagelvoort, Michigan, Freshman                 
10-7-2              2.26            .927            1

Martin Oullette, Maine, Senior                       
14-11-4            2.17            .929            3

Joel Rumpel, Wisconsin, Junior                        
16-4-1              1.83            .936            2

Jimmy Sarjeant, Mercyhurst, Junior                        
16-4-5              2.33            .934            1

Colin Stevens, Union, Junior                        
19-4-2              2.10            .922            4

Steve Summerhays, Notre Dame, Senior                       
17-11-2            1.90            .929            7

Jason Torf, Air Force, Senior                       
11-6-4              2.60            .911            1

Adam Wilcox, Minnesota, Sophomore              
20-4-5              1.97            .931            3

Clay Witt, Northeastern, Junior                        
16-8-3              2.17            .940            4

Candidates for the Mike Richter Award were determined by nominations from all 59 NCAA Division I men’s hockey head coaches. The finalists and winner will be selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media.

Criteria for the Mike Richter Award:

-          Candidates must display outstanding skills on the ice
-          Candidates should be in good academic standing at an NCAA college or university
-          Consideration should be given to academic achievement and sportsmanship
-          Candidates must comply with all NCAA rules; be full-time students at an NCAA college or university; and complete 50 percent or more of the season
-          Consideration should be given to the candidate’s activities in the community

About Let’s Play Hockey: In its 42nd season and based in Minneapolis, Let’s Play Hockey is the longest-running hockey newspaper in the U.S., serving the largest hockey market in the nation. Let's Play Hockey is published 29 times a year - weekly during the hockey season and monthly during the offseason.

About the Herb Brooks Foundation: The Herb Brooks Foundation is dedicated to growing the game of hockey and giving the game back to the kids. Founded in 2003 by Dan Brooks and Kelly Brooks Paradise, Herb’s family and friends created the foundation to preserve his legacy by continuing his life’s work by growing the game by “making hockey fun for kids and letting them learn to love the game the way we did.” 

Latest News