skip navigation

Herb Brooks Foundation Golf Classic on June 12 will again be a who’s who of American hockey

By Barclay Kruse, 06/09/15, 1:30PM CDT


The Herb Brooks Foundation’s annual Golf Classic is the most important annual fundraiser for the Foundation. But it has also developed into a who’s who of North American hockey.

The 2015 event is scheduled for Friday June 12 at Victory Links Golf Course on the campus of the National Sports Center in Blaine. Proceeds raised by the tournament will support the Foundation’s mission to grow the game of hockey. Over 150 golfers are expected to play, with additional attendees participating in the banquet that follows the golf tournament.

Some of the hockey celebrities who have confirmed participation include 1980 Olympians Dave Christian, John Harrington, Buzz Schneider, Dave Christian and Rob McClanahan. The Minnesota Wild will be represented by coaches Mike Yeo and Andrew Brunette and players Ryan Carter, Jordan Schroeder and Keith Ballard. Gopher players who have committed include Kyle Rau, Seth Ambroz and Christian Isackson. Other past and current players who will participate include Mike Antonovich, Matt Niskanen of the Washington Capitals, recent Los Angeles Kings signee Jonny Brodzinski and Zane McIntyre of the University of North Dakota. 

The centerpiece of the banquet was the induction of this year’s addition to the Herb Brooks Foundation Youth Hockey Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame honors those individuals who have significantly contributed to growing the game of hockey, the mission of the Herb Brooks Foundation.

The 2015 Hall of Fame honoree will be Bill Butters, a Minnesota hockey icon who played in the World Hockey Association, National Hockey League and coached at various levels. After retiring from hockey, Butters has assumed a leadership role with Hockey Ministries International and in that role has mentored many young hockey players. 

Last year’s Hall of Fame honoree was Chuck Grillo, former player, NHL scout and general manager and owner-operator of the Minnesota Hockey Camps, a summer youth hockey camp based in Nisswa, Minn.

Past inductees into the Herb Brooks Foundation Youth Hockey Hall of Fame have been Janet Marvin; Jim McDonough; Cal, Tut and Jack Marvin; Rudy Krampotich; Stan Hubbard and Wes Barette and Larry Hendrickson.