skip navigation

2016 Herb Brooks Awards presented at the Minnesota State High School Hockey Tournament

By Barclay Kruse, Herb Brooks Foundation Media Director, 04/21/16, 4:45PM CDT


St. Paul, Minn. – Four winners of the 2016 Herb Brooks Award were announced at the girls’ and boys’ Minnesota State High School Hockey tournaments in February and March at the Xcel Energy Center in Saint Paul.

The four winners are:
Girls’ A: Sophie McGovern, Duluth
Girls’ AA: Kaitlyn VanTassel, Forest Lake
Boys’ A: Tyler Loe, Mankato West
Boys’ AA: Jackson Cates, Stillwater

Players are nominated by coaches from the teams that qualify for the State Tournament. So the award is unique. Not only must the players be high achievers; so must each of their teams.

Players must represent the characteristics, values and traits Herb Brooks defined. This award is not necessarily intended for the best player on the team. Instead, it honors the player with the most drive and dedication to the team, to the school, and to the community — and, of course, to hockey.

Characteristics and values the awards committee evaluate:

  • True love for hockey — a real passion 
  • Commitment and loyalty to school, team, and community 
  • Willingness to sacrifice for the team 
  • Integrity 
  • Courage of his/her convictions 
  • Goal-oriented approach 
  • Sharp focus and strong competitive drive 
  • Excellent work ethic 
  • Willingness to accept challenges 
  • Mental toughness 
  • Strong hockey skills 
  • Strong leadership qualities 

Tim Leighton, Communications Coordinator for the Minnesota State High School League, published a great article on the Herb Brooks Award for Let’s Play Hockey. Click here to read the article.

Click here to see photos of the 2016 winners.